Pilates

What is it?

“Pilates develops the body uniformly, corrects wrong postures, restores physical vitality, invigorates the mind and elevates the spirit” – Joseph Pilates

Pilates is a series of exercises designed to help your body function better. You begin by concentrating on the deep abdominal muscles that support your spine and progress by bringing in other muscles, strengthening those that are weak and stretching those that are tight.

Benefits include: increased mobility, flexibility and strength, improved balance, reduction in posture related aches and pains and lower stress level.

Who is it for?

Pilates is available to people of all ages although we prefer to see under 16s on a 1:1 basis rather than a group class. Pilates can help in the management of a range of muscular and joint conditions but is particularly beneficial for the management of back and neck pain.  Pilates is also an excellent way of maintaining core strength, flexibility and general fitness.

The following Pilates services are available at the Courtyard:

  • Matwork classes from beginner through to advanced level
  • Equipment or studio Pilates (1:1 or small group by appointment)
  • Ante and post-natal Pilates (1:1 or small group by appointment)
  • Pilates for horse riders (offered as a class or 1:1 by appointment)

 

What to expect

At the Courtyard we are committed to offering you the very best Pilates programme delivered by instructors who are fully trained Chartered Physiotherapists. This provides a unique opportunity for you in that your instructor will use physiotherapy skills of assessment and rehabilitation to specifically tailor exercises and routines to work on areas of weakness.

An individual, one hour session with your instructor is required prior to attending any of our Pilates sessions. This will enable you to receive a full assessment and to learn the basics of The Pilates technique.

Following your assessment you will be advised as to which class level or format (group or 1:1) will provide you with the most benefit.

Pilates Class Locations

Dursley

Tetbury

Malmesbury

Hillesley

Wotton Under Edge

Cheltenham

Charfield

Our 2021 Pilates Term Dates

Take a look at our term dates for 2021 below.

Term One

Monday 4th January – Saturday 13th February

6 weeks

Payment Date: 18th December 2020 £60

Term Two

Monday 22nd Feb – Thursday 1st April

6 weeks

 Bank Holiday Friday 2nd April no class Saturday 3rd April

Payment Date: 12th February £60 – 6 weeks, £50 – 5 weeks

Term Three

Monday 19th April – Saturday 29th May

5/6 weeks

Bank Holiday 3rd May

Payment Date: Friday 9th April – £60 – 6 weeks, £50 – 5 weeks

Term Four

 Monday 7th June – Saturday 17th July

6 weeks

Payment date: May 28th £60

Summer Term Schedule

Monday 19th July – Saturday 4th September

7 weeks

Payment: at time of booking

Term Five

Monday 6th September – Saturday 23rd October

7 weeks

Payment Date: 27th August £70

Term Six

Monday 1st November – Saturday 17th December

 7 weeks

Payment Date – 22nd October £70

Here’s What Our Clients Think of Us

Ready to Make a Change?

Making that first appointment is the most important part. If you’re not quite sure what you need don’t worry, give us a call or send an email. Our job is to help you find the best way forward with the most appropriate treatment plan or class for you.